Bastiaans (1812-1875) | Bätz-Witte organ Gorinchem | Organ

Bastiaans (1812-1875) | Bätz-Witte organ Gorinchem

(2014 by LG Organ Classics 20140510)

Gerben Budding plays music by Johannes Gijsbertus Bastiaans in the Grote Kerk in Gorinchem.

Koop CD - € 25.00

On this double CD, Gerben Budding plays the five major organ sonatas by Johannes Gijsbertus Bastiaans, alternated with free works, on the Bätz-Witte organ in the Grote Kerk in Gorinchem. Most of the works have never been recorded before. As a regular performer of this organ, Budding felt obliged to Bastiaans: “I ask myself the questoin: am I going to play the sonatas of Mendelssohn on a Bätz-Witte organ again or is there something more? Bastiaans sounds excellent on this organ in Gorinchem. Bastiaans had good contacts with Witte about organ building. We know that the organs of Witte were interested, and that his ideal sound more then tends to the Müller organ of the Bavokerk, where he was organist. ”

“The result is beautifully recorded, and the explanation is of course taken care of down to the last detail – a valuable asset.” (Review Opusklassiek)


CD 1

  • Fantasiesonate in bes (Wien Neerlands bloed)
    • Allegro moderato
    • Adagio
    • Intermezzo – Tresca – Scherzo
    • Alla breve
    • Fuga
  • Fantasie in a
  • Fantasiesonate in c (Jesu meine Freude)
    • Allegretto semplice
    • Koraal – Recitatief
    • Con moto agitato
    • Adagio
    • Allegro impetuoso
    • Allegretto pastorale
  • Praeludium en fuga in c

CD 2

  • Fantasiesonate no. 1 in b
    • Allegro moderato
    • Andante cantabile
    • Adagio assai aspressivo
    • Andante maestoso
    • Fuga
  • Elegie of Treurzang
  • Sonate no. 2 in b
    • Moderato – Allegro
    • Adagio religioso
    • Andante maestoso – Fuga
  • Symphonie in D
    • Andante con moto
    • Koraal – Recitatief en Trio
    • Largo – Allegro Moderato

You can order this 2-CD by clicking on the button (€25,- excl. shipping costs).